Mix Tape

Hot Melodic Rock Injection!

Comments Off on Mix Tape: Hot Melodic Rock Injection!

There’s something so forthright about Melodic Rock. By nature, it’s sincere, boldly drawn and designed with a mass audience in mind. Love, God and the travails of stardom are all treated with equal gravitas (and oh SUCH gravitas…). It’s perfect for singing along and may just lift you out of the doldrums if you embrace it without fear of getting cheese all over yourself. You can usually get the stains out later.

This assortment begins with a new one from Journey, and since we gave Jonathan Cain the business in our review of Journey’s latest, we’ve included two of his best compositions (Turn Around In Tokyo and Faithfully). There’s a few curves beyond the familiar names to keep things interesting – a gently tweaked Elton John cover from Tortoise & Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy and a couple bands likely unfamiliar to anyone not a record collector from the U.K. (Stray, Mother Earth). Let us know what you think and maybe we’ll offer future installments. Now bend over. This won’t hurt a bit…

If you experience playback problems, pop over to the 8tracks mix page and it should play fine.

Hot Melodic Rock Injection! Track Listing

  1. Human Feel – Journey
  2. Turn Around In Tokyo – The Babys
  3. Hallelujah – Stray
  4. Jesus Is Just Alright – The Doobie Brothers
  5. Alive Again – Chicago
  6. You Are The Flower – Toto
  7. Apple Green – Mother Earth
  8. Silver Springs – Fleetwood Mac
  9. Sentimental Lady – Bob Welch
  10. Woman Oh Woman – Foreigner
  11. You Do Something To Me – Paul Weller
  12. Waiting To Happen – Marillion
  13. Waiting – The Servants
  14. Love Me Somebody – Bad Company
  15. Sunburst – Bob Seger & The Silver Bullet Band
  16. Faithfully – Journey
  17. Daniel – Tortoise & Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy
  18. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road – Elton John
  19. Every Time I Think Of You – The Babys
  20. A Dream Goes On Forever – Todd Rundgren
  21. Play The Game Tonight – Kansas