Mix Tape

Poundings LXIV

Comments Off on Mix Tape: Poundings LXIV

The urge to smash and rail against things is strong these days. Nothing like anger and frustration to spark a fire, but ultimately, most of us just want to rise above the fear and upset to live with less strife, apprehension, and genuine want. Not that complicated really, but there sure seems a lot in the way of such a life.

The Clutch track here is dedicated to the rabblerousing cephalopod that’s protesting outside DI HQ (seen in this week’s mix cover). Oh, we’re not the target of its ire, but glad to offer non-policed space and handfuls of random shellfish to our comrade from the sea. This movement is spreading everywhere!

Our Why Pink Floyd? selection this week comes from Meddle, one of the group’s under-sung middle period classics. And we start off this mix with the title cut from Lou Reed’s 1982 album, which shows his upcoming collaboration with Metallica makes perfect sense.

If you experience playback problems, pop over to the 8tracks mix page and it should play fine.

Poundings LXIV Track Listing

  1. The Blue Mask – Lou Reed
  2. Doom, Gloom, Heartache & Whiskey – Viking Skull
  3. Freakonomics – Clutch
  4. Fight! Smash! Win! – Street Sweeper Social Club
  5. Psychoanalyst – Rose Hill Drive
  6. Raw Power – Iggy and The Stooges
  7. Tell Me Something – Rival Sons
  8. Portrait of Red – The Virginmarys
  9. When The World Comes To An End – BigBang
  10. Wasp/Behind The Wall of Sleep/Basically/N.I.B. – Black Sabbath
  11. You Don’t Have To Be Old To Be Wise – Imicus
  12. The Hunter – Mastodon
  13. Fearless – Pink Floyd