Mix Tape

Sunday Brunch V

Comments Off on Mix Tape: Sunday Brunch V

We read the news today. Oh boy. A certain amount of ambivalence about sunrise and the start of another day are understandable if one ruminates too long or too hard on all the pitfalls in humanity’s path. And there is always the sobering reminder that those who were once with us are no longer here. This week many of us are feeling the sting of Levon Helm’s passing. He is here in this little grey-tinged assortment, from the first cut (a dedication to him for all he gave to music and the world) to a rare guest turn with John Martyn to a closing rarity from The Band. The rhythm ain’t ever gonna be the same without you, man, but for the rest of us the beat goes on, even if sometimes we want to cry just because the sky is blue…

Sunday Brunch V from dirtyimpound on 8tracks.

If you experience playback problems, pop over to the 8tracks mix page and it should play fine.

Sunday Brunch V Track Listing

  1. Gratitude – Don Pullen Quintet
  2. Blame It On The Sun – Stevie Wonder
  3. A Sign of the Ages – Gil Scott-Heron
  4. Another Grey Morning – James Taylor
  5. Because – Martin John Henry
  6. Vanilla Sky – Paul McCartney
  7. No Occasion – J Tillman
  8. Would You Believe Me? – John Martyn (feat. Levon Helm on drums)
  9. Unavailable – Papercuts
  10. Theologians – Wilco
  11. Every Morning – Veda Hille
  12. Sleepytime In The Western World – Blitzen Trapper
  13. If I Lose – The Band