Mix Tape

Poundings XCI

Comments Off on Mix Tape: Poundings XCI

After three weeks of hyper-focus on new stuff, we’re mixing up time periods (like we usually do) to draw lines of connection and mainly just share good tunes from whatever era they emerged. This one does snag a couple new gems (Admiral Fallow, Rhett Miller) but also some 60s keepers and a closing John Martyn cover that will leave you smiling. We begin with a tune that makes us sing too loud for propriety as we clap our hands, gospel music for the faithless in this bedraggled, consumerist age. An ode to enough-ness and living in the here & now just when we need one most.

So love this vessel while you’re aboard
There will be no deposit back from the cosmic landlord
You don’t need to hang your hat on belief in bumper stickers
There will be no love lost just pull that ripcord

Listen to this mix here

Poundings XCI Track Listing

  1. Isn’t This World Enough? – Admiral Fallow
  2. Love Has Brought Me Around – James Taylor
  3. I Dig Love – George Harrison
  4. Look Through Any Window – The Hollies
  5. It Don’t Show – Patriots
  6. Bass (demo) – Robyn Hitchcock and The Egyptians
  7. Sunshine Help Me – Spooky Tooth
  8. Explosive Mouth – T. Rex
  9. Ce Soir – Golden Earring
  10. ’68 Comeback >
  11. Workin’ Hard – Retribution Gospel Choir
  12. Complicated Man – Rhett Miller
  13. Over The Hill – The Court and Spark