Mix Tape

Echoes From Sunset Canyon I

Comments Off on Mix Tape: Echoes From Sunset Canyon I

The West Coast of the United States stirs something in the depths of musicians. The forests, the ocean, the mountains and all the glorious, rolling space have a strange, lovely impact on the songs that emerge from this place. And one doesn’t need to actually be in the West for this effect to take place. It’s a thing of the imagination – bittersweet and thoughtful – an easy feeling (that ain’t always peaceful) that creeps into the notes from the shadows of late night and early dawn. A few years ago the Impound was seized by the urge to create a soundtrack to a place that doesn’t exist but feels real anyway – the anthems of an invisible city where the sunsets are gorgeous, melancholy is strong, and golden brown beauties make one ache in ways they never imagined possible. Today, we share the first installment with y’all, and we’ll have another one to carry you into the weekend in a few days.

Listen to this mix HERE. Track listing below.

You can listen to 8tracks mixes on your iPhone (pick up the app here) and Android (pick up the app here).

Echoes From Sunset Canyon I Track Listing

  1. As The Raven Flies – Dan Fogelberg
  2. Better Change – Roger McGuinn
  3. Hand-Me-Down Shoe – Seals & Crofts
  4. After The Goldrush – Prelude
  5. Happy When I’m Gone – Sera Cahoone
  6. Angry Storm – Everest
  7. Motorhome – The Mother Hips
  8. There’s Gold In Them Hills – The Black Crowes
  9. No Occasion – J. Tillman
  10. Nightingale – Brinsley Schwarz
  11. Hills of Isle Au Haut – Vetiver
  12. Amoreena (1970 BBC Version) – Elton John
  13. Texas Morning >
  14. Tumbling Tumbleweeds – Michael Nesmith & The First National Band
  15. Bright Eyes – Maplewood
  16. Make It Easy – The Moondoggies
  17. To Love Somebody – Flying Burrito Brothers
  18. When You Find Out – Western Electric
  19. The Dolphins – Linda Ronstadt
  20. There Comes A Time – Bert Jansch